Melbourne Eats

Hello friends!

As I said in my previous post, I have created a list of my favourite Melbourne eats from the last time I visited the city. Melbourne’s food scene is seriously bustling, with all types of cuisine on offer, so I felt it was definitely worthy of it’s own post!

8Bit
Burgers at 8Bit. Photo credit: Lydia Watkins

8Bit Burger

I am not at all exaggerating when I say these burgers changed my life. 8Bit serves up incredibly tasty burgers and chips in a funky, retro space filled with diner-style seating and vintage arcade games. Located on Swanston Street in the heart of the city, this is the perfect spot to fuel up during a busy day of sightseeing. I can 10/10 recommend the Golden Axe burger and the cheese and bacon fries, just make sure you’re seriously hungry when you get here!

Hopetoun Tea Rooms

This beautiful tearoom, which has resided in the Block Arcade since 1892, is a gorgeous spot to visit for some tea, finger sandwiches and perhaps even a cheeky slice of cake! You will be able to spot the tearoom either by the queue out the front, or by the incredible display of cakes in the window. Casual dining doesn’t require a reservation, however, if you would like traditional afternoon tea, make sure you book online in advance.

Hopetoun Tea Rooms
Hopetoun Tea Rooms cake display. Photo credit: Lydia Watkins
Doughnut Time
Doughnut Time, Degraves Street. Photo credit: Lydia Watkins

Doughnut Time

Oh Doughnut Time, my one true love. I know I recommend this doughnut chain in almost all of my food related posts, but I just can’t get enough of it. I love the little shop nestled in Degraves Street, it’s a great spot to get something sweet to get you through exploring Melbourne’s laneways! Simply look for the signature green sign and you’re away.

Little Cupcakes

This gorgeous little shop, also located on Degraves Street, is a favourite amongst Melbournians. Although I can’t vouch for all of the cakes here (even though I’m fairly certain they’d all taste incredible), the red velvet cupcake is to die for! Grab a cake, take a seat outside and have a quality people watch.

DOC Espresso
Lasagne at DOC Espresso. Photo credit: Lydia Watkins

DOC Espresso

Don’t let the title mislead you, this small bustling gem in Melbourne’s Little Italy serves up more than just a great espresso. A part of the DOC group, DOC Espresso is known for its delicious and traditional pasta dishes cooked by Italian chefs. Be sure to check out DOC Pizza too for the ultimate Italian fix!

Tetsujin (sushi train)

This beautifully chic sushi train in Melbourne Emporium serves up more than just seriously good nigiri. Be sure to use the tablets at your table to try out some of the hot food selections, particularly their udon noodle dishes! Tetsujin is also suitable for vegetarians.

Top Paddock
Top Paddock hotcakes! Photo credit: Lydia Watkins

Top Paddock

If you follow any Melbourne instagrammers, there is no doubt you will have seen at least one photo of Top Paddock. If you want to truly indulge yourself in Melbourne’s café and brunch culture, then a visit to Top Paddock is a must. The space is beautiful, the coffee is great and the food is seriously insta-worthy. Be sure to order the hotcakes if you want a meal that tastes delicious and looks way too good to eat!

Thanks for reading!

Lydia x

2 thoughts on “Melbourne Eats

Leave a comment